Tuesday, February 10, 2015

ARC Review: The First Wife ♥ by Erica Spindler |

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

The First Wife
Erica Spindler

Publisher: St. Martin's Press; 

  • First Edition edition (February 10, 2015)
  • Genre: Thriller, Literary Fiction
  • Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Nobles
  • Source: Review Copy was sent free of charge courtesy of St. Martin's Press.

Image and video hosting by TinyPicSynopsis: As a child, Bailey Browne dreamed of a knight in shining armor swooping in to rescue her and her mother. As she grows older, those dreams transform, becoming ones of a mysterious stranger who will sweep her off her feet
and whisk her away from her ordinary existence. Then, suddenly, there he is. Despite the ten year difference in their ages, her working class upbringing and his of privilege, Logan Abbott and Bailey fall deeply in love. Marriage quickly follows. But when Logan brings her home to his horse farm in Louisiana, a magnificent estate on ninety wooded acres, her dreams of happily-ever-after begin to unravel.

A tragic family history she knew nothing about surfaces, plus whisperings about the disappearance of his first wife, True, and rumors about the women from the area who have gone missing—and when another woman disappears, all signs point to her husband's involvement. At first Bailey ignores the whispers, even circumstantial evidence against Logan mounts. But finally, Bailey must make a choice: believe what everyone says—or bet her life on the man she loves, but is realizing she hardly knows.


  • Bailey Browne dreams of a fairy tale romance, lucky for her, her knight in shining armor by the name of Logan Abbott arrives. I did like the mention of fairy tales, but I personally find love at first sight hard to believe. The dialogue and romance between the two characters was a bit cheesy and eye rolling, but bearable enough to read how the story continues. Bailey goes on vacation with her husband Logan to his farm in Louisiana, her fairy tale romance seems to have taken quite a turn. It turns out Logan was married before, which Bailey was completely  unaware about and apparently, the first wife has disappeared .. 

  • The premise of The First Wife sounded promising when I picked up the book, it sounded like exactly the type of thriller I would enjoy. I really liked the concept of this novel, the plot itself was not as satisfying as I would have liked though. I'm a huge fan of brave heroines, but I also like vulnerable heroines sometimes too. However, I dislike stupid heroines. Bailey was not as smart as I would have liked her to be. Her choices made me think otherwise, her behavior was quite repetitive and cringe worthy.  I felt that it was Bailey's own fault of not knowing Logan's past, she should not have rushed so fast into marriage with a complete stranger.
  • I liked Logan's character more than Bailey's, even though he was a complete cheese ball and a filthy liar for hiding the truth about his first marriage from Bailey. Moving on, I couldn't guess right if Logan was behind the disappearance of his first wife or not - sometimes I would think he's the murderer because all the evidence found pointed towards him, but then I think - no, it can't be that obvious, can it? The good thing about The First Wife is that it's not predictable like most thrillers.
  •  I would have liked a more improved plot though, sometimes there were too many characters to follow up with. The plot was filled with many twists and turns which was good, however, I couldn't understand a couple of parts though - I felt they were unnecessary such as Logan's sister. She seemed quite bipolar and psycho at times, sometimes I would think she's the murderer. The author did do a good job on making the novel suspenseful, it was refreshing that I couldn't guess who the killer was. 
Recommended for fans of The Silent Sister, Gone Girl, and The Husband's Secret.

On that note, Macmillan Audio is publishing the audiobook and I’d like to offer you all the opportunity to listen to this soundcloud excerpt of the audio: here is the link.


Shukran for reading this! Leave your blog links in the comments & I'll be sure to check them out & follow :) Stay in tuned pretty creatures..


"Be the change that you wish to see in the world."— Mahatma Gandhi
femmmefatalee@gmail.com

18 comments:

  1. This sounds like such a cool book

    Candice | Beauty Candy Loves

    ♥♥♥

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh I love reading suspense! Nicely reviewed! x

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds like a great book. I just had to pause and tell my sister about it so that we could recommend it to our book club!

    Jessica @ Sunny Days and Starry Nights

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Wow, I hope you enjoy reading it Jessica - It's a decent book overall.

      Delete
  4. Thanks for this review! I really liked the sound of it from the blurb - a great suspense but I'm sad that the heroine was a bit thick at times.... I guess I'll have to read it to give it my own verdict!
    As always your book reviews are amazing!! xxx

    www.bohemianmuses.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks so much Jade for your sweet comments as always :) You should try out the book for yourself!

      Delete
  5. This isn't my typical read but now I want to know who the killer is lol

    It's scary that this story has actually happened a lot in real life.

    Karen @For What It's Worth

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Haha exactly, I couldn't pinpoint on who the actual killer was. Thank you :)

      Delete
  6. This novel does sound like it has an interesting plot idea. I have to say, it's surprising when you learn such shocking things about the person you just married! I don't think I will pick it up though, because characters mean a lot to me and I don't like the idea of one who acts dumb sometimes >>

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The characters are not the smartest here in this novel, overall, good concept though.

      Delete
  7. Yeah this book really sounds amazing! It's a psychological thriller that really messes people up in the brain and makes you think.. what if this happened to me!!?? I'm definitely going to have purchase this one now!

    Alex @ The Book's Buzz

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree, it does have an amazing concept - I hope you enjoy reading this novel though Alex :)

      Delete
  8. Love the premise. You would be surprised how much about a person's past folks don't really know. While this didn't completely wow you I am glad you enjoyed it for the most part

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. For the most part, it's an enjoyable read, sometimes it did lose it's plot though.

      Delete
  9. I want to meet Logan! He sounds great. And... I hate stupid heroine's too!!

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay, glad you agree! Bailey was immature at times.

      Delete

Powered by Blogger.