Friday, March 20, 2015

ARC Reviews♥ The Stranger and Boarding School Girls.

Friday, March 20, 2015

The Stranger
Harlan Coben

Publisher: Dutton (March 24, 2015)
ISBN-13: 978-0525953500
Image and video hosting by TinyPicGenre: Thriller
Pre-Order: Amazon | Barnes & Nobles

Source: Review Copy was sent free of charge via Dutton Books.

Synopsis: The Stranger appears out of nowhere, perhaps in a bar, or a parking lot, or at the grocery store. His identity is unknown. His motives are unclear. His information is undeniable. Then he whispers a few words in your ear and disappears, leaving you picking up the pieces of your shattered world. Adam Price has a lot to lose: a comfortable marriage to a beautiful woman, two wonderful sons, and all the trappings of the American Dream: a big house, a good job, a seemingly perfect life. Then he runs into the Stranger. When he learns a devastating secret about his wife, Corinne, he confronts her, and the mirage of perfection disappears as if it never existed at all. Soon Adam finds himself tangled in something far darker than even Corinne’s deception, and realizes that if he doesn’t make exactly the right moves, the conspiracy he’s stumbled into will not only ruin lives—it will end them.


  •  The Stranger has an intriguing concept, imagine a stranger coming up to you and revealing a dark secret about someone close to you that you weren't aware of. Secrets that could actually hurt you and destroy everything that you have. Adam Price has that American dream, but it can soon be destroyed by that secret. That actual secret is actually sick and saddening, and no his wife Corrine is not cheating him. A lot of human beings do cheat on their partner, that's something that you CAN consider forgiving if it was a one time mistake - however, in Corinne's case it's something completely different. It's just so depressing and disgusting about what she has done. It makes me think, do people actually do that?? It's something I have never heard of an incident happening anywhere, although I have heard the idea of it. I did like the original concept of The Stranger, I found it fascinating and wonderful. I would never forgive Corinne if I was Adam. Well, when I'm near old age and dying, then maybe.. MAYBE. 
  •  I liked Adam's character, he's a good man and a caring husband, and father. He's an example of how a family man should be like. Corrine on the other hand is rather questionable. I don't believe she even deserves my pity, I can understand why she did such a heinous action, but it can't be justified. Her motives were unreasonable. The Stranger who reveals secrets was creepy yet interesting, I believe if someone is hiding something from you, they should be the one to tell you that themselves. However, if a third party tells me - I would rather not know that secret. I don't mind family, and close friends filling me in on that information - but I don't think I would want a complete stranger(except police) revealing my loved ones secrets to me. It's not their place to..  What if my partner or whoever it is would have opened up and told me their secret later? People can argue for "humanity" you should care for each other and tell the truth, but this guy takes MONEY for revealing secrets and destroying homes, so no thanks.
  • This is a thriller that makes you think, although, The Stranger confused me quite a lot.. I didn't understand what was happening half of the time - I did skim a few pages. The beginning was fantastic, the middle was great too - but then it just took of in a wrong direction, the plot lost me. I did like the ending though and the potential this novel had to offer. The conspiracy of the novel didn't get to me, however, I did like the action. It's a plot-driven book, more than a character one though. Overall, the concept of the story is refreshing and suspenseful, I would rate it three butterflies.
Recommended for fans of The Silent Sister, and The Husband's Secret.



Boarding School Girls
Helen Eve

  • Series: The Temperley High Series (Book 2)

  • Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin (March 24, 2015)
  • ISBN-13: 978-1250054593
  • Pre-Order: Amazon | Barnes & Nobles
  • Source: Review Copy was sent free of charge via St. Martin's Griffin. Thank you Michelle.
  • Synopsis: Worshipped, envied, desired, and feared by all, Siena Hamilton reigns over Temperley High, the embodiment of the Hamilton legacy. She and the Starlets may still be healing from the unfortunate and horrible events of that night, at the end of last year, but nothing can shake her place as the head of Temperley's elite any longer. The Starlets are nothing if not adept at dealing with traitors, and Siena is her mother's daughter: she knows how to be perfect, and she will not disappoint. There is only one person who could possibly get in her way Romy, former Starlet, is back--back from a mutually-agreed-upon term away, in France--and no one is happy about it, least of all herself. She's changed now, though. She's trying harder to be normal, to dress appropriately, to blend in, to keep her head down and keep the secret of what really happened that night safe and hidden. But when your former best friends are untouchable, and you've betrayed them, you don't just get to come back--even if you're beginning to think they might not have been your friends in the first place. In Boarding School Girls, prequel to Helen Eve's first novel Stella, revenge runs deep, old wounds break open, and the past can never, never be outrun.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  •  Well, hello Gossip Girl meets Pretty Little Liars here.. This is the prequel to the novel Stella which I actually haven't read. Boarding Schools Girls is of course based on an elite boarding school, I love the concept of prestigious schools - I can just imagine what deep secrets they hide. This is a standalone novel though. I did like reading this novel, but at times there was too much cattiness. The ending was quite strong, and we can understand Sienna better - although, it's not the ending I would have preferred.
  • "The Scarlets" are the most popular teen clique at their boarding school.. Sienna is the center of the scarlet's, and Romy is the former scarlet. However, everyone has turned against her because she was apparently done something so incredibility wrong and against the girl code. I did like Romy's character more than Sienna, Sienna was more superficial and wanted revenge. She only thinks about herself, she's just like "ME, ME ME." I couldn't understand her character sometimes, but of course she's ruthless so she probably doesn't need a reason to be catty. She's aimed on perfection, that doesn't necessarily mean she's a bad person - however, she will take down anyone who stands in her way. She's still a teenager, and she is preparing for marriage. When I was her age, I was focused on college and making a career first.. She has been raised in a certain way, so I can understand why her character is quite complex. I think I liked Romy mainly because she is changed now, she's no longer the same scarlet she was before - she was character growth now. She's a reformed bad girl which I found fascinating. I did like Sienna's boyfriend Jack, I do hope to see more of him and see what happens next.
  •  I did enjoy reading this novel, it took me about two chapters to get hooked - the plot had some surprising twists, but at times they did fall flat. It is an entertaining read with a great concept of elite boarding schools. Overall, I would rate it three butterflies.
  • Recommended for fans of Gossip Girl, Pretty Little Liars, and Private.

    • Shukran for reading this! Leave your blog links in the comments & I'll be sure to check them out & follow :) Stay in tuned pretty creatures.. 

      “Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength. Then it can never be your weakness.” —George R.R. Martin 
      femmmefatalee@gmail.com

22 comments:

  1. Sounds really interesting

    Candice | Beauty Candy Loves
    ♥♥♥

    ReplyDelete
  2. The Stranger definitely sounds intriguing, really want to know what that secret is now, haha. But agree, it's no ones place to tell you anything about someone else, but that person (of course if it's not a bad secret, or could put you in danger with being with that person etc.)

    Haven't read Stella either, so probably a good thing to read this first, and though it does sound like my type of read, it also doesn't sound like my type of read, haha. But, I'm not that interested in Boarding School, especially when it's superficial.. :(

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for dropping by Kristy ♥

      Haha that secret is pretty sad though, Poor Adam.

      Delete
  3. I like the sound of the idea of the Stranger, but I don't like that for you it fell off the tracks, I am actually curious about what Corinne did, but then on the other hand if it is yucky and creepy, I don't want to know.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's not creepy or anything like that, but it's rather strange and sick you know?

      Delete
  4. I have a blogger friend who loved The Stranger after reading it; the author is one of her favourites. These both sound like some decent books which have some good qualities to them, but I am not sure I will be picking up either. Anyway, great reviews!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, they weren't really my cup of tea either - thank you Olivia ♥

      Delete
  5. Great reviews girl!
    The Stranger sounds like a good read, although it's a shame that it confused you a bit. And a shame that Boarding School Girls fell flat for you.

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

    ReplyDelete
  6. I was just looking at both of these books earlier. It's interesting I'm finding them here. It's not sounding so good though. Three stars is not that compelling. Great reviews, but I won't rush to read these.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Jazmen ♥ I had mixed feelings on these two books, they're decent but not that great.

      Delete
  7. I just saw The Stranger on Goodreads because it was recommended based on another book I read. I read a couple of his books a long time ago and liked them. I'm kind of dying to know what goes on.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The beginning is really good though.. not sure about the rest of the book. Maybe you might like it more than me? ♥

      Delete
  8. The Coben book definitely looks interesting, I have never read him before but I have been curious about his work.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. His book was decent overall, the plot was confusing a bit.

      Delete
  9. I don't what it is about boarding schools that I love, but I find them to be so freaking entertaining. I may pick up Boarding School Girls if I ever need something to lighten my mood.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree, so much drama & they're so "elite" you know? Thank you for the comments ♥

      Delete
  10. The Stranger reallyyyy insterests me. I am so curious about Corrine's secret. I think I'll just read it for that reason, hahaha. Great reviews.

    ReplyDelete
  11. The Stranger sounds interesting. Nope I am with you..let my loved ones tell me. I like that it made you think. I will tell my girls about the boarding school novel..they are Pretty Little Liar fans.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, someone agrees! <3 & They might like the Boarding School Girls novel.

      Delete

Powered by Blogger.