Tuesday, March 10, 2015

ARC Review | Captive by Brighton Walsh♥

Tuesday, March 10, 2015

Captive
  • Brighton Walsh
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin;
  •  (March 24, 2015)
  • ISBN-13: 978-1250059635
  • Genre: New Adult
  • Pre-order: Amazon | Barnes & Nobles
  • Source: Review Copy was sent free of charge via St. Martin's Griffin. Thank you Michelle.
  • Synopsis: He's the most dangerous man she's ever met…and she's falling in love with him. Madison Frost is desperate to escape her life. Daughter of a prominent businessman, she has everything a girl could ask for. Except for a family who's present in her life, and anyone to talk to outside the four walls of the prison she calls home. Madison dreams of one day leaving her life behind. She never thought being kidnapped is how it would happen. Now she's being held captive by a man who's as frightening as he is sinfully gorgeous.  Enormous, muscular, and filled with secrets, the man they call Ghost is an enigmatic mercenary, and Madison is trapped with him. She doesn't know who hired him or why, but the more time she spends at his mercy, the more she realizes he's not what he seems. Beneath his rough exterior lies an unexpected gentleness and a heart as broken and battered as her own. But as Madison lets down her walls, Ghost holds tight to his, hiding secrets that could destroy everything.


  • Madison Frost is the daughter of a rich and successful businessman, but underneath all the wealth and glamour lies a lonely girl. She might seem to have everything but happiness and attention from her parents. The anti-hero in this novel is Ghost, and no that's not his real name. One day as she waiting to get picked up from school, she get's kidnapped by him who is terrifying yet absolutely gorgeous.
  •  I usually notice the title and cover first of the book, I try not to judge books by covers but that's usually the first thing I see - At first, looking at the cover and title of Captive, I was guessing it was a Stockholm Syndrome novel. I didn't expect an actual good romance with this novel, there's no dark romance here, it's not an erotic novel - It's New Adult which I wasn't aware of. Madison gets kidnapped by Ghost, the reader should expect abuse and rape, but it DOES NOT happen here, which I'm quite happy about. I find novels where victims are raped yet they bond with their captor to be disturbing.. I've read a few good novels, although I don't agree with the concept because the men in those dark novels aren't likable, they're abusive and ruthless. I can understand if the male lead isn't abusive, and there is an actual connection there which isn't sexual. This novel reminded me of The Good Girl which I liked. 
  • Similar to Colin from The Good Girl, Ghost is not a bad person at all. Sure, he kidnaps people but that is his job.. He does it for survival, and not because he actually wants to. He does not harm Madison emotionally and physically. I would like to know, why do kidnappers in every single captive similar book have to be handsome and young? It's like we're supposed to like them.. Now let's replace that "handsome and young" with a forty-five year old man that actually looks super creepy. The tables would turn then for sure.. Although, I did like Ghost's character. He does show kindness and mercy - he didn't offend me like most anti-heroes do. I liked Madison, I liked how her body was emphasized on being curvy. She wasn't the kind of heroine who is thin and not she wasn't shown as perfection. I'm skinny too, before someone assumes otherwise. It's just in a lot of novels, the girls tend to be tall and thin with natural curves, which is pretty unrealistic. I want to read about a short girl, big girl, and a tiny girl too.. 
  • Well, hello swoon worthy couple - you have won me over. Madison's bond could be classified as Stockholm Syndrome, however, it's on the light side. Yes, Ghost is a kidnapper. He's supposed to be the bad guy, his actions are wrong and they cannot be justified - although, I do understand why he's a kidnapper by profession given his reasons. I liked that it wasn't a simply a take romance, it actually took time to build up. Since it is a New Adult novel, it does have graphic scenes but they're kept to a minimum compared to most NA novels. I liked how the Madison and Ghost seeked comfort in just talking, they even motivated each other. The slow burn was amazing - there is no insta love here, and they actually got to know each other.
  •  Captive is told from two different perspectives: Madison's and Ghost's. I really did enjoy reading this novel and being inside their heads, I was rooting for the characters all the way! The plot was amazing though with twists, and thrills - although, a couple of parts towards the ending I didn't find necessary. This is a stand alone novel, and I look forward to more of the author's work in the future. I would have liked to give Captive 4.5 butterflies, but a couple of things bothered me so I would rate this four butterflies.

Recommended for fans of The Good Girl, Girl Stolen, and Stolen.

  • Shukran for reading this! Leave your blog links in the comments & I'll be sure to check them out & follow :) Stay in tuned pretty creatures.. 

    “Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength. Then it can never be your weakness.” —George R.R. Martin 
    femmmefatalee@gmail.com

41 comments:

  1. Ohhh a kinda Stockholm Syndrome thing? Hmmm. That's actually super interesting. I've only really read one other book that dealt with that (though it only touched upon it and it was more a 'bond' than a romance).

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, this one is pretty unique with no violence and other horrible things :)

      Delete
  2. I am not fan of novels with Stockholm Syndrome. I just cannot be okay with author romanticizing the captor in any way... But it is just my personal preference and I am glad that you enjoyed it, Benish :) Lovely review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you Lucia, and I agree with you - it's a good concept, but I don't think I would like to to be with a captor either.

      Delete
  3. It sounds like good book, I'll give a try :)

    http://corleonka.blogspot.com/
    https://www.facebook.com/CorleonkaBlog

    ReplyDelete
  4. The swoon worthy romance sounds nice

    ReplyDelete
  5. I am not someone who enjoys erotica books either, so even though this one does sound fairly dark, I am glad it isn't like that! I have seen so many positive reviews for this as well, so I am adding it to my TBR! Glad the characters are good and the plot intriguing. A romance like this sounds like what I need <3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yaay! I do hope you check this one out for yourself, the concept might sound disturbing but it doesn't sound too bad when you read the novel, it's quite different ❤️

      Delete
  6. Oh the draw of a bad boy! Sounds good though!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    ReplyDelete
  7. Just found this in my mailbox today. I hope I enjoy it! Great review :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aw Yay! Hope you enjoy it as much as I have, waiting for your thoughts on it soon :)

      Delete
  8. Kidnap stories are always interesting, but yeah, I hate when there is always rape. it's so depressing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree, the rape parts are always disturbing.

      Delete
  9. Oh wow... this sounds like it was really put together well... you have me curious as to how he has this kind of job!

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hope you do try out for yourself :)

      Delete
  10. oh wow, this is not what I expected this book to be about. I'm just that carefree girl that sometimes doesn't read the blurb of a book before reading it lol. But I'm glad I did, because I don't think this book is for me. It might be... but I don't think it is :P Great review though!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Haha aw that's alright, thank you Lola ❤️

      Delete
  11. Huh, I didn't even take a second glance at this..and now you have me totally curious. I didn't realize it was new adult..that surprised me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yep, I'm with you on that! I thought it was going to be the obvious but it was totally different.

      Delete
  12. This actually sounds pretty good! It hadn't been on my radar at all, but I am kind of intrigued (especially by the mentions of swoons and no insta-love! Such a win). I am pretty curious about how the whole kidnap thing plays out too, I think I will have to check this book out! Great review :)
    Shannon @ It Starts At Midnight

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for dropping by Shannon ❤️ The romance is really cute and I'm glad there wasn't any insta love - hope you check out this one for yourself :)

      Delete
  13. Oh, I really like the sound of this, Benish! Thank you for putting it on my radar! I look forward to meeting these swoon-worthy characters. Lovely review <3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You welcome girl :) Hope you enjoy this one as much as I have x

      Delete
  14. One of my all time favourite books was based on the same issue, Stolen by Lucy Christopher. That one is more of a psychological contemporary, rather than romance though. You should try that one, it's Stockholm Syndrome at it's very best. I usually have issues with kidnapping situations, even in young adult. It's hard to wrap my head around how a character can fall in love with her captor under those type of circumstances, even if he IS super attractive. I like how this one is in duel points of view though and might add it when I'm looking for a different read. Lovely review Benish <3 So glad you enjoyed this one.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know what you mean, I've read Stolen before in high school - it's one of my all time favorite books as well! I actually did a review on it recently as well, I agree with you I don't like the concept of falling for your kidnapper, it just sounds sick .. although, the book Stolen does make a person consider it - hope you enjoy this one as well :) It's more romance than psychological though - thank you ! ❤️

      Delete
  15. I never read a kidnap story, sound interesting :) I will add it to my TBR .. Lovely Review

    ReplyDelete
  16. Nice Inspirations

    FOLLOW my Blog!!! Maybe we can follow each other!!!
    http://rimanerenellamemoria.blogspot.de

    ReplyDelete
  17. Ohgosh, this sounds so good! But I hope this isn't gonna be the kind of read that'll have a lot of questions unanswered. That would be so stressful for me. :o But fantastic review!

    Blessie @ Mischievous Reads

    ReplyDelete
  18. This sounds really interesting, I love that you found the romance swoon worthy! I'm glad Ghost isn't a complete bad character and that he had mercy. I need to check this one out! Thanks! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for the kind comments Katie! ❤️

      Delete
  19. Ghost's character was really different & I enjoyed reading about him, hope you check this one out for yourself ❤️

    ReplyDelete
  20. Wonderful review, I can tell you really enjoyed this one!

    ReplyDelete

Powered by Blogger.