Friday, July 3, 2015

ARC Review: The Color of our Sky ♥ by Amita Trasi

Friday, July 03, 2015

The Color of our Sky
Amita Trasi
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Publisher: Bloomhill Books; (June 30, 2015)

  • ISBN-13: 978-0986155604
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Nobles | Audible | Book Depository

Source: Review Copy was sent free of charge via Bloomhill Books.
Synopsis: A sweeping, emotional journey of two childhood friends—one struggling to survive the human slave trade and the other on a mission to save her—two girls whose lives converge 

only to change one fateful night in 1993. India, 1986: Mukta, a ten-year-old girl from
 the lower caste Yellamma cult of temple prostitutes has come of age to fulfill her destiny
 of becoming a temple prostitute. In an attempt to escape this legacy that binds her, Mukta is 
transported to a foster family in Bombay. There she discovers a friend in the high spirited eight-year-old Tara,
 the tomboyish daughter of the family, who helps her recover from the wounds of her past. Tara introduces
 Mukta to a different world—ice cream and sweets, poems and stories, and a friendship the likes of which
 she has never experienced before. In 1993, Mukta is kidnapped from Tara’s room. Eleven years later,
 Tara who blames herself for what happened, embarks on an emotional journey to search
 for the kidnapped Mukta only to uncover long buried secrets in her own family. 


  • The Color of our Sky is about two childhood friends and their journey that relates to each other. In 1986, Mukta is a ten year old child who is from the lower caste Yellamma cult of temple prostitutes. She has come to her age to fulfill her prophecy on becoming a temple prostitute. However, she does not want this, she is just a child so she is transported to a foster family in Bombay, India. She finds a friend in eight year old Tara, the daughter of the family. Tara helps her recover her wounds and seek for the better. On one fateful night Mukta is kidnapped from Tara's room - there is no trace left of where she and how she is. Eleven years later, Tara still cannot forget Mukta and comes back to India to search the the kidnapped Mukta, but in doing so she also discovers dangerous secrets about her own family.
  • Well.. this was a beautiful, and insight novel to read about - the author has written a wonderful novel on her first attempt, this is her debut novel - hence the almost five stars. I'm not as easily impressed, and this book has certainly wowed me. I love reading about cross cultural novels, I have heard about high rates of child trafficking and prostitution in India but never have I heard about "temple prostitutes." I'm surprised that's even a lifestyle, those two words temple and prostitute sure do contradict each other. It reminded me a bit of the concept of the assassins who are nuns in the His Fair Assassin series, although their two different books. Temple prostitutes or "religious" prostitution is a sexual ritual consisting of sexual acts in religious worship. I don't support any form of prostitution, I feel it is completely wrong, although I can understand if someone does it for survival or if they're forced such as, human trafficking. It bothers me when people sell their body for external goods.. It really hurts me and saddens me, so this book did hit a weak spot. Overall, I feel this book is fantastic and everyone at one point should read it. Let's not forget that gorgeous cover. It's actually stunning with the night sky.
  • Mukta and Tara are two different characters.. yet they're both intriguing to read about. Mukta's story won my heart though, I wonder how she must have been feeling born into prostitution and ordered to become a temple prostitute, The female friendship aspect was intriguing to read about - I can love a book if it has more strong females who value other women than slut-shamers. There's not much romance in this novel but you do get a glimpse here and there, but it's mainly a moving story about family, drama, and friendships.
  • The novel is told from alternating perspectives: Mukta's and Tara's. You do see Mukta's childhood and Tara's present. I found the perspectives fascinating, although it would have helped if the chapter said the person's name. The two women and their friendship is strong and beautiful. I figured out what were the buried secrets by the third chapter, mainly because the story had foreshadowing. I didn't mind at all that I figured out the plot twist, and it was still interesting to read about. The strong friendship reminded me of The Kite Runner as well, a childhood friendship that was never forgotten over the years even though. This is a compelling, and really dark adult novel so be cautious of what you're writing. The details aren't as graphic, but they're enough to spook the reader. The author does a wonderful job of balancing a moving story and actually informing the readers through subtle hints that child, actually rather human trafficking is wrong and it must be put to a stop. I think I just might join the cause now because of this book.

Recommended for fans of The Kite Runner, and The Space Between Us.

Thank you for reading this! Have an amazing month of June - Leave your blog links in the comments & I'll be sure to check them out & drop by :) Stay in tuned pretty creatures..

“Above all, be the heroine of your life, not the victim.” —Nora Ephron 
femmmefatalee@gmail.com


24 comments:

  1. Great review once again

    Love Vikee
    www.slavetofashion9771.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. I am going to go and add this one to my TBR right now because it sounds like it is going to be a phenominal read. I am so glad you were able to love it! I personally love reading books set in unique places, which already pulled me into the book. But reading the synopsis and knowing there is a huge theme or love and caring makes me so happy. I can't wait to try this one and I hope to love it as much as you did!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aw thank you Olivia, it's truly an amazing book that I enjoyed ♥ It isn't as unique since it's similar to The Kite Runner but it's still a beautiful novel overall.

      Delete
  3. Great review Benish :) I haven't heard of this one before, but I do like the sound of it!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Replies
    1. Thank you for dropping by Jazmen ♥

      Delete
  5. Hiya babe, great review
    i love people that read books as i hate reading myself
    very attractive :)
    Thanks for sharing this with us.

    Visit me whenever you can;
    www.its-dominica.blogspot.co.uk

    I'm picking 3-5 of my followers by the end of this month for international giveaway.
    If you're not following me yet do that to enter my first massive giveaway.
    For the people that i will randomly pick, i will email each person photos
    of brand new heels and make up products for you two choose from,
    you can pick up to 3 items, 1 pair of shoes and 2 make up products.

    Have a lovely week!
    Stay in touch.
    Kisses!

    Dominica S.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I don't think this one's for me, but I'm glad there's a great friendship and focusing more on that. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for dropping by Kristy :)

      Delete
  7. Beautiful Review Benish! I love cross-cultural novels, and this one sounds fascinating and unique. I would never think to put temple and prostitution together either. I love that this gives you insight in to human trafficking and makes you want to join the fight. How horrible to be forced in to this kind of a life!

    Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you Lindy ♥ & I agree, cross-cultural novels are amazing - I hope you enjoy this novel as much as I have.

      Delete
  8. I prefer when the chapters are titled with the name of the person whose perspective it is too Bennish. What a wonderful review, and I love books with strong friendships.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you Kimba & the friendship aspect was wonderful ♥

      Delete
  9. I've seen this book around a lot and was always so tempted to try it, but never requested it. I wish I had now because it sounds really wonderful and unique and a book I will probably love.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was a beautiful book, although the concept is very familiar to The Kite Runner.

      Delete
  10. I love books with strong female friendships. The diversity sounds incredible, but the underlying storyline of a girl being ten and expected to enter the world of prostitution will be confronting for a lot of readers, myself included. So glad she gets herself out of that situation and looking forward to reading about her journey. That cover is absolutely stunning! Wonderful review Benish <3 so glad you enjoyed it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, strong female friendships are truly amazing & the diversity was really good as well - Thank you Kelly, I'm glad you could like the cover as well :)

      Delete
  11. Oh wow, I've never heard of this, but it sounds so good! There are never enough great friendships! I'm fully obsessed with the cover, too. Wonderful review! :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree, the cover is gorgeous as well. Thank you Rachel :)

      Delete
  12. I haven't heard of this book before now but it sounds really wonderful.

    A lovely review Benish! Sharon – Obsession with Books

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for dropping by Sharon ♥

      Delete

Powered by Blogger.