Thursday, January 22, 2015

Book Tour #14: ♥ Withering Hope | Review

Thursday, January 22, 2015

Withering Hope
Layla Hagen

Genre: Contemporary, Adventure

Purchase: Amazon
Source: e-ARC was sent free of charge courtesy of Xpresso Book Tours.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Synopsis: Aimee’s wedding is supposed to turn out perfect. Her dress, her fiancé and the location—the idyllic holiday ranch in Brazil—are perfect.  But all Aimee’s plans come crashing down when the private jet that’s taking her from the U.S. to the ranch—where her fiancé awaits her—defects mid-flight and the pilot is forced to perform an emergency landing in the heart of the Amazon rainforest. With no way to reach civilization, being rescued is Aimee and Tristan’s—the pilot—only hope. A slim one that slowly withers away, desperation taking its place. Because death wanders in the jungle under many forms: starvation, diseases. Beasts. As Aimee and Tristan fight to find ways to survive, they grow closer. Together they discover that facing old, inner agonies carved by painful pasts takes just as much courage, if not even more, than facing the rainforest. Despite her devotion to her fiancé, Aimee can’t hide her feelings for Tristan—the man for whom she’s slowly becoming everything. You can hide many things in the rainforest. But not lies. Or love. Withering Hope is the story of a man who desperately needs forgiveness and the woman who brings him hope. It is a story in which hope births wings and blooms into a love that is as beautiful and intense as it is forbidden.


  • I've been wanting to review Withering Hope for a while now, the premise sounded fantastic and unique when I first heard about it. I've always been fond of adventurous books - I found the premise quite similar to On The Island which is one of my most favorite books ever, so I couldn't help but not compare the two stories. The concept of the Amazon rainforest was brilliant, the author is a genius for that idea. I'm not a huge fan of couples kissing on covers, although, this one is not that bad. I did like the rain and Amazon background on the cover which foreshadows what the book consists of. The protagonist Aimee is stranded in the Amazon rainforest with the pilot Tristan, after they have a malfunction with the private jet. She was planning on getting married to her best friend and the "love of her life." Now Tristan and Aimee have to survive together, they need one another in more ways they can imagine.

  • The imagery of the Rainforest was amazing, the book has two different perspectives: Aimee and Tristan's. I liked both of their characters, Tristan was douche bag free - he reminded me of a quite and sincere man and Aimee was a loud yet courageous character. Their bond was deep - and the chemistry was great. 
  • I did enjoy reading this book for the most part - I was a bit disappointed in it though because Withering Hope mostly focuses on the romance. I expected more adventure than romance. Maybe I'm being too picky, but I didn't read this book for the romance.  I didn't like the idea of cheating, however, it seemed reasonable due to their circumstances, but cheating is never justified though. Withering Hope does consist of plenty of adventure; but, I did feel it was not sufficient enough since that was what had originally drawn me to the book. I expected an adventure book, and I found a love story instead. I didn't mind the love story but I felt it was too much at times, and that it was the main focus of the novel - when you put something as strong as the Amazon Rainforest concept, you would expect adventure more. It wasn't a long book though, it would have helped if it was. Withering Hope is a sweet romance book, it had plenty of potential, and I did like the book overall. 
Recommended for fans of On The Island, Hatchet, and The Distance Between Lost & Found.

Shukran for reading this! Leave your blog links in the comments & I'll be sure to check them out & follow :) Stay in tuned pretty creatures..

"Be the change that you wish to see in the world."— Mahatma Gandhi
femmmefatalee@gmail.com

22 comments:

  1. Great review! I love survivalist stories so this one sounds right up my alley. Good to know about the big romance focus - I don't usually mind but it's good to know what to expect. The rainforest aspect sounds so interesting, though!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Giselle! Hope you enjoy reading it :)

      Delete
  2. Thank you so much for your review Benish :)

    Hugs,
    Layla

    ReplyDelete
  3. This book cover isn't great - I'm also not a huge fan of people kissing on covers although my novel is KIND of similar. The covers just been designed and finalized. I'd love your thoughts. The blurb and cover etc is all on my latest blog post!
    Maybe one day you'll review my book :)
    Love reading your reviews. You consider every aspect xxx

    www.bohemianmuses.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks so much - & sure, Jade I would love to review your book. You're always welcome to email me :)

      Delete
  4. I have this book in my TBR list, can't wait to read it, lovely review

    ReplyDelete
  5. Although I'm not a big romance reader, this one sounds interesting. Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, hope you enjoy reading it :)

      Delete
  6. Although I'm not a big romance reader, this one sounds interesting. Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Would you like to follow each other via GFC? Let me know and I'll follow you back ASAP :)
    http://fashionailsartsbyanna.blogspot.com.es/
    Kisses!

    ReplyDelete
  8. nice!
    follow to follow?

    http://defishencia.blogspot.ru/

    ReplyDelete
  9. I had been following the tour for that one and seen it around in quite a few places! I wondered how the romance would play in, but I was banking on more of the stranded appeal coming in as well, like you. So not sure how to feel about this one yet. But great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yess, I'm glad you know how I felt - the romance was cute, but perhaps, too much at times.

      Delete
  10. I really struggled with this book. The beginning was really engaging but her inner thoughts just killed me, not to mention his too. I kept thinking...this might be like On the Island which was so awesome but without the age difference. I didn't mind the romance if it was balanced with the adventure and dangers of being stranded, you know? Fantastic review! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. YES, I so agree with you ♥ It wasn't like On The Island which was a fantastic book, the concept of this one was pretty great as well but afterwards, it went downhill with the romance ..

      Delete

Powered by Blogger.