Friday, February 6, 2015

Disappointing.. Article 5 by Kristen Simmons ♥

Friday, February 06, 2015

Article 5
Kristen Simmons

  • Publisher: Tor Teen (January 31, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 0765329581
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765329585
  • Genre: Dystopian, Teen
  • Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Nobles
  • Source: Review copy was sent free of charge courtesy of Tor Teen.

Image and video hosting by TinyPicSynopsis: New York, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C., have been abandoned. The Bill of Rights has been revoked, and replaced with the Moral Statutes. There are no more police—instead, there are soldiers. There are no more fines for bad behavior—instead, there are arrests, trials, and maybe worse. People who get arrested usually don't come back.  Seventeen-year-old Ember Miller is old enough to remember that things weren’t always this way. Living with her rebellious single mother, it’s hard for her to forget that people weren’t always arrested for reading the wrong books or staying out after dark. It’s hard to forget that life in the United States used to be different. Ember has perfected the art of keeping a low profile. She knows how to get the things she needs, like food stamps and hand-me-down clothes, and how to pass the random home inspections by the military. Her life is as close to peaceful as circumstances allow. That is, until her mother is arrested for noncompliance with Article 5 of the Moral Statutes. And one of the arresting officers is none other than Chase Jennings…the only boy Ember has ever loved.

  • The Bill of Rights have no existence anymore, and they're replaced with the Moral Statutes. The only time I can imagine the United States in a dystopian setting is if another country invaded and took over, which is apparently what happened in this novel. The protagonist Ember's mother is arrested for violating Article 5 of the Moral Statutes which is having a child out of wedlock. That child is obviously Ember. The mother is arrested by Chase Jennings, Ember's old boyfriend.

  • Article 5 has been on my TBR list for a while now, it's insanely popular so of course I had to check out the hype. Dystopian settings are one of my favorites, and the premise of the novel sounded promising.  I needed background information on how the United States became dystopian though, but there was no information given. I was given one reason with no detailed information. Usually with a series, it pretty much explains it in the first novel. Perhaps, it explains it further into the series. Besides that, the beginning of Article 5 seemed intriguing. It was quite easy to fall into the story, it had my attention since the first chapter. I couldn't exactly put it down without knowing what happens next. , Chase is clearly my favorite character in this novel. He's douche bag free, although, he was too patient with Ember. He's broken, and I adored his character in the novel. 
  • I liked Ember's character, I thought she was strong and brave. Well, I thought that until her second meeting with Chase, then Ember became increasingly annoying as the plot progressed. I don't agree with her thoughts on murder, she's not exactly a pacifist, but she doesn't believe in murder. I mean come on, if a man is going to shoot me, I'm not going to stand there and be shot at, am I? I'll fight back, If I knew Kung Fu I would try to disarm him without killing him - unfortunately, I don't so my only option is to kill him before he kills me. It's murder, sure, but it's self-defense. I don't have a choice - Ember's logic is ridiculous, she believes self-defense is wrong too. 
  • Her growing obsession with Chase was frustrating on why he has changed. My only answer, he's a SOLIDER! War changes you. I don't understand how Chase put up with her ridiculous claims - As the novel progressed, I didn't think Ember was as brave as I had initially thought in the beginning of the novel. She's stupid, and clearly does not deserve Chase. I think Kristen Simmons should give Chase to me instead. 
  • Maybe it was the author's intention to make the heroine this way, maybe sometimes people cannot take the situation too well and become increasingly frustrating? It bothered me as the reader though.  Article 5 is more romance than dystopian, I read it for the dystopian aspect more than the romance, and instead I got caught up within teenage love. I found a road trip of two past lovers, sure it was action filled - I like to know, where was the actual plot? Where was this story going? The romance was steamy and sweet though, although, the goose hunt wasn't necessary. Just admit your feelings already guys!
  •  It sounded like Bonnie & Clyde on the run. Although, I did like the heavily packed action. I couldn't wait to find what happened next in the story - Simmons does a fantastic job of making the novel interesting and fast paced, she delivered well in that department. In other great dystopian novels I've read before, the badass heroine takes charge and rebels against the government, such as The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Legend. Article 5 had a wonderful concept but it fell too short for me. It didn't explain anything to me about the corrupt government, it was just teenage angst. I did like the original concept of the novel though, and I liked Chase Jennings character. I did finish the novel as well. Overall, It was engaging, even though, I disliked Ember's character, I did want to know what happened next. Kristen Simmons writes in an engaging and intriguing manner, so I do look forward to more of her work though. I do hope the series get's better, because it has plenty of potential.
Recommended for fans of Selection, The Book of IvyAmy and Roger's Epic Detour. 

Shukran for reading this! Leave your blog links in the comments & I'll be sure to check them out & follow :) Stay in tuned pretty creatures..

"Be the change that you wish to see in the world."— Mahatma Gandhi


  1. I enjoyed this series and it does get stronger. Dystopian novels are a favorite and one of the reasons I began exploring the YA genre

    1. Yes, I do hope the series gets stronger.

  2. I have this series for a while now, I would really love to start is soon, Glad to see you are enjoyed reading it :)

    1. It's an enjoyable read, although It was quite a let down and it didn't meet my expectations :(

  3. I have just finished read Kristen Simmons latest novel which I enjoyed a lot - and was wondering whether I should go back and try this one because I had heard a lot about it. It's a shame it didn't give you that background information you needed, but otherwise it sounds like a pretty decent dystopian!

    1. The first installment in the series isn't that great, but I do hope the novel gets better.

  4. It is a shame this fell short for you... I hope it picks up in the next books. Great review!!

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

  5. I was really excited to read this one but the reviews have been so mediocre that I have put it off. Maybe I will pick it up this summer for a good read on the book while fishing or something!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    1. I hope you enjoy reading it - I do hope the series gets better though x

  6. So it seems I wasn't the only person to have a problem with this book. It had such potential but Ember's obsession just took over everything else. And you're right, he was way too patient with her, I feel like it would have been more believable if he would have given her the cold shoulder more when she was being a bitch.

    Also... did it feel like a sequel to you? because of the lack of ANY back story to do with anything other than Chase and Ember. I just didn't et anything half the time

    I'm sorry you didn't enjoy it, like you I had it on my reading list for a long time only to be very disappointed.

    Great review hun :)

    1. YES!<3 I'm glad you get me, thank you ♥ I do hope the series gets better though as it does have potential here and there. The romance did kill the story for me though .. it's just blah lol


Powered by Blogger.