Monday, April 20, 2015

Book Tour #18: Running Fire by Lindsay McKenna ♥

Monday, April 20, 2015

Running Fire
Lindsay McKenna
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Publisher: HQN Books (April 28, 2015)
  • ISBN-13: 978-0373788934
  • Genre: Contemporary Romance
  • Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Nobles
  • Source: Review copy was sent via TLC Book Tour and HQN Books.

  • Synopsis: He was a haven in the midst of Hell…  Temporarily assigned to the Shadow Squadron in a troubled region of Afghanistan, Chief Warrant Officer and pilot Leah Mackenzie is no stranger to conflict—even if most of her physical and emotional scars are courtesy of her vicious ex. Still, she's got a bad feeling about picking up a team of stranded SEALs. A feeling that's all too justified once enemy fire hits their helicopter and all hell breaks loose.. SEAL Kell Ballard's goal was to get the injured pilot out of harm's way and find shelter deep in the labyrinth of caves. It's a place of dark intimacy, where Leah finds unexpected safety in a man's arms. Where prohibited attraction burns brightly. And where they'll hide until the time comes to face the enemy outside…and the enemy within their ranks.

  • I had to read Running Fire once I read the premise of it, there's something about adventure that intrigues me. I wouldn't exactly classify this is an adventure novel, but more of a romance novel though. This is part of a series, yet they're stand alone novels which is fantastic. It can be hard to be keeping up with an actual series. Leah MacKenzie is the Chief Warrant Officer and a pilot and Kell Ballard is part of the Navy SEAL - their paths soon cross after Leah's helicopter is shot and it crashes down. Kell rescues her after she is the sole survivor, and he nurses her back to an healthy state, and of course a romance is going to boom right? Will they survive the enemies outside?
  • The romance development between the two characters Leah and Kell was great. It was intense, and their chemistry was almost instant. The romance did take time to develop. It was interesting to see how they tried to struggle to survive together. However, what lacked in the novel is character development. Kell's character is appealing though, he did give Leah space to find herself again and make the first move. He's actually my favorite character in this novel, what actually pushed me to keep reading this novel. He's very kind and good hearted - we need more love interests like Kell. Leah doesn't exactly play a damsel in distress, she can be strong and she's a fighter. However, she carries a lot of secrets with her. She can be strong physically, however, she shows many signs of weaknesses which isn't exactly a bad thing. However, she can be too weak. she doesn't have more of a backbone to her character. That could be due to her strained past that continues to affect her future. I did wish to see some character growth in Leah. It's unique how flying is an escape for Leah from reality, it's the same way for me in books.
  •  Aaah, the plot brings in a lot of drama - the enemy is out there, and they're hunting for both of them. Now, these two characters must learn to adapt to the environment they're in, seek a way out and defeat the enemy. The romance was intense, and some of the themes can be strong. Overall, Running Fire did have a good concept but some parts were flawed - I would give it 3 butterflies.
Recommended for fans of I'll Meet You There, and On The Island.


Shukran for reading this! Leave your blog links in the comments & I'll be sure to check them out & follow :) Stay in tuned pretty creatures..

“Above all, be the heroine of your life, not the victim.” —Nora Ephron 
femmmefatalee@gmail.com

30 comments:

  1. I do love my books which are action packed, and this book sounds like as if it keeps you hooked from the very first page. I'm also a huge fan of romance in my reads too, so I'mg glad to know that it was done well in this book. I'm sorry that the character development was lacking though. Thank you for your honest review! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This was nicely done though, thank you for dropping by Jasprit ♥

      Delete
  2. YES, romance done right. Got to have chemistry but take its own time to actually develop. Shame about the character development though, that's a must for me. >:(

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree, I need character development more than the romance <3

      Delete
  3. It seems like even though this had some flaws it was still an okay read for you.
    Wonderful review!

    ReplyDelete
  4. As always your reviews fascinate me - and I still smile at the butterflies marks :)
    I cannot wait for my book to be one that you review! I just hope you like it when you do!! Soon :)
    Hope you're well lovely lady and reading lots of beautiful books xxxx

    www.bohemianmuses.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aw thank you Jade, I was just read the recent news of your manuscript selection by an agent, that must be soo exciting! I'm truly happy for you, and of course, I would love to review your book on my blog someday :) ♥

      Delete
  5. I have a weakness for romantic entanglements in the military. I especially like that the female counterpart shows as much gumption as the hero.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree, military romance is addicting ♥

      Delete
  6. I was disappointed that I missed this tour from TLC books. I'm learning to go with the flow when it comes to reading out of order in stand alone romance series. It is easier than worrying about starting from the beginning, especially if the other books in the series don't appeal. I'm loving the sound of this one, Benish. thanks for sharing, I will definitely be picking up a copy sooner or later!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aw, I hope you still pick up your copy regardless Sarah :) The concept of this novel was pretty great ♥

      Delete
  7. This seems like to be a pretty decent read. Its a bit of a shame that the adventure was more dominant in the novel than the romance, but it does sound like a nice steady love and I like the sound of that! I'm not too sure if I will pick this one up though, because it seems a bit too plain for me...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, I would have liked to see more adventure than the actual romance though - it's just adventure is more dominant than romance, and it's a let down when it's not in novels.

      Delete
  8. I do enjoy books with intense romance and lots of action. The book does sound interesting, but I'm not sure if I'll pick this one up, but I always enjoy your reviews! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for dropping by Magen ♥ & yes, I'm glad you enjoy them :)

      Delete
  9. sound like a good book, glad to see you enjoyed it :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for dropping by Alreem ♥

      Delete
  10. I'm glad that you liked Leah and Kell. Their slow developing romance sounds sweet. A shame that Leah lacked growth.

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

    ReplyDelete
  11. You know, I prefer strong heroines, and I would think that someone like Leah, who is a Chief Warrant Officer and a pilot, would be a stronger person. Well, I suppose she's very much influenced by her terrible past, as you stated in your review. The plot does sound absolutely AWESOME, though! I would LOVE to be nursed back to health by great-looking guy, even if I were a strong heroine! Lol. Thanks for featuring my next addition to my Goodreads TBR!! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You welcome Maria! ♥ This was a decent novel overall, I hope you do enjoy it a lot more than me :) & haha yes, I agree - anyone would be happy to!

      Delete
  12. I haven't heard of this one before. It sounds interesting and something I might like, except you said lack of character development. And that right there is a killer for me. So now I'm unsure if I want to read it or not.

    Dreams @ Once Upon A Dream Books

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, it does lack character development although the romance is pretty sweet ♥

      Delete
  13. I love romantic suspense ..and wahoo to men in uniform. I love that the romance took time to develop, Lovely review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you Kimba, slow burn romance are always my favorite ♥

      Delete
  14. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this book for the tour.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Oooh, romantic suspenses and a military man at that. Definitely a guilty pleasure. Thanks for sharing!

    Blessie @ Mischievous Reads

    ReplyDelete

Powered by Blogger.