Monday, March 2, 2015

A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas ♥

Monday, March 02, 2015

A Wicked Thing
Rhiannon Thomas
  • Publisher: HarperTeen
  •  (February 24, 2015)
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062303530
  • Genre: Fantasy, Fairytale Retelling
  • Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Nobles
  • Source: Personal Kindle Purchase

Synopsis: Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of what happens after happily ever after. One hundred years after falling asleep, Princess Aurora wakes up to the kiss of a handsome prince and a broken kingdom that has been dreaming of her return. All the books say that she should be living happily ever after. But as Aurora understands all too well, the truth is nothing like the fairy tale. Her family is long dead. Her "true love" is a kind stranger. And her whole life has been planned out by political foes while she slept.  As Aurora struggles to make sense of her new world, she begins to fear that the curse has left its mark on her, a fiery and dangerous thing that might be as wicked as the witch who once ensnared her. 

With her wedding day drawingnear, Aurora must make the ultimate decision on how to save her kingdom: marry the prince or run.


  • It's March already .. ! Anyway, I did a WOW post on A Wicked Thing recently. It's considered the fairy tale retelling of Princess Aurora, although, it's more of a continuation. This is what happens after the ending of the fairy tale. Princess Aurora wakes up after sleeping one hundred years to the kiss of a handsome prince. The catch is, Aurora is still living in the past, no one she knows is still alive anymore. She doesn't believe she's living in actual fairy tale and wants to make her own reality..
  •  This is one of the novels I was highly anticipating for 2015 - I really wanted to love this novel. Sleeping Beauty isn't my favorite fairy tale, but I loved the concept of A Wicked Thing. The cover of A Wicked Thing is absolutely beautiful, I love the girl on the cover - her dress looks beyond amazing, especially how she looks like she's sleeping. I do love the font as well. This has one of the PRETTIEST girl covers out there! It's a shame the book did not live up to the stunning cover. I did not like this book for the most part .. It's a fantasy novel gone wrong. I actually wanted to flag it as DNF'ed, but I did finish it in the end.
  • Where shall I start .. Princess Aurora is like a puppet, I understand people want to use her to gain power & support - I just feel that she doesn't fight back. She has no family, and no friends alive now, it does make her vulnerable on the outside, but she doesn't seem fragile. The character development is slow.. I'm not expecting a badass heroine, but honestly, what have you got to lose now? Everything she has loved is gone.. I felt she had all the power to do as she wills, when she did fight back, I felt she just took that chance a second too late.. I remember in Sleeping Beauty - Aurora used to sing, and play with animals - none of that happens here. I don't believe a book has to be exactly like the original fairy tale, but it would help to be a little similar.
  •  As most young adult novel these days, there is a love triangle or even a four square? I understand, she's Sleeping Beauty, everyone wants her. She only really likes one male lead in the novel though, it's not like she's fighting for who she likes more. The other guys are mainly potential proposals for her. I didn't like any of the male leads such as, the good prince, the bad prince, and the traitor. They weren't memorable for me, the romance was boring - I actually skimmed through it.
  • I do love that A Wicked Thing isn't actually a fairytale retelling, it's what happens after happily ever after. It's a continuation of what happens to Aurora, which is mainly the reason I gave this novel even a one star. It depresses me because the idea of the continuation of the fairytale was brilliant, unfortunately, it was not executed well. The plot development is poor and quite lagging, I couldn't enjoy this one - and my high hopes were crushed. Even though, I didn't like this book - I would never tell another reader to not read it, I've seen positive reviews of this book as well - our tastes can be different. Furthermore, the ending was intriguing, and it does have me wondering what will happen next. However, most likely, I will not continue these series - unless I see more positive reviews for the next book. 
Recommended for fans of Red Queen, and Sleeping Beauty.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
“Above all, be the heroine of your life, not the victim.” —Nora Ephron 
femmmefatalee@gmail.com

40 comments:

  1. Another lovely review

    Love Vikee
    www.slavetofashion9771.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ooo, it sounds like this completely fell apart..I do agree I like that it is a continuation and not a retelling. Too bad it didn't work for you Bennish

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, I'm still sad I didn't end up liking this book </3

      Delete
  3. Oh, dang. I'm sorry this one just didn't cut it for you. I haven't read this one, and I honestly wasn't interest in reading it. But I did enjoy your honest review! :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh noes, this is such a shame :( I haven't been seeing positive reviews of this book around at all, so I think I will have to dodge around this one myself because I probably won't like it :( I do like a good retelling, and the idea of a continuation sounds cool. But a puppet character and a love... triangle? square? would bother me to no end :/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I understand what you mean, I saw mixed reviews for this one as well - Now I know why.

      Delete
  5. Wow, so sad I was really excited to try this one too. But it's not sounding so good now.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oh well, that's indeed a shame. LOOKATTHATCOVER. You looked, alright. I wanted to read this, was going to beg for a copy to the publishing company but then learned that it is actually not a fairy tale RETELLING so I was like NO. Because I don't have great memories about books like these *coughs* Princess of Thorns *coughs*. Great review though!! :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LOOL yes, it's not a fairytale retelling - I do love that cover though, it's just gorgeous.

      Delete
  7. Thank you for the review...a very detailed one ;)

    I'm your follower now, if you want to follow back :D
    http://butterfly9999.blogspot.ro/

    ReplyDelete
  8. Eeesh, I really don't want to read about a princess who embraces the 'damsel in distress' cliche. GIRL POWER PLEASE.

    Also, why are there other love interests? That annoys me so bad. Pointless drama to try and flesh out a plot that can't survive without angst -_-

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree, too many guys in these stories now! What happened to just one boy-girl romance?? </3

      Delete
  9. I honestly don't know what to do now! I read all these negative reviews but I'm kind of still interested. At the same time who the hell wants to spend time for a boring book? Plus I hate love triangles (squares).
    Lovely review, though. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If you liked Red Queen, there's a chance you might like this one as well? Thank you though x

      Delete
  10. Ah, I am sorry this one was a miss for you. But if you recommend it for fans of Red Queen (which I did not like at all), it is definitely not for me LOL

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LOOL I get what you mean, it has a similar concept of "damsel in distress" of Red Queen - I didn't like both either, but RQ is a tad bit better.

      Delete
  11. Well that's a total bummer...I'm just not sure I can handle a heroine that has a ton of suitors (2 is my limit, typically) or a poorly executed story. Thanks for taking one for the team and I hope the next book you read is AUH-MAZING. *wink*

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope so too! I'm currently reading The Silver Witch :) The cover is so beautiful!

      Delete
  12. I haven't read any good reviews for this one. A four square romance? Really> I adore Sleeping Beauty but this is one I am skipping. I hate when a lovely cover traps me with a mediocre read!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, the romance was too much at times. Deceiving cover :/

      Delete
  13. Yikes! That's too bad that it didn't work for you but I've read several similar reviews.

    Karen @For What It's Worth

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I was hoping it would wow me, but it only disappointed.

      Delete
  14. The cover is absolutely gorgeous. I nearly put this one on my list because of the cover alone but I have a feeling I would not enjoy it that much. I don't think I have found many of the fairytale themed books to my liking.
    I know that it's hard to write a fair review especially if you did not enjoy the book 100% you did a wonderful job on this one :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for dropping by :) & Yes, the cover is gorgeous.. I wish the book was more improved though, it had a fantastic concept though.

      Delete
  15. I never heard anyone actually loving this book, I hope your next read will be a great one :D

    ReplyDelete
  16. I haven't actually heard of the original fairytale before, even so, this sadly doesn't sound like it does the storyline justice. I just can't connect to weak willed and mousy protagonists, and even loving Red Queen, I'm pretty sure I wouldn't enjoy this sadly. So sorry you couldn't have enjoyed this more Benish, hopefully your next read knocks your socks off. Lovely review nonetheless <3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, & I hope so too. I have read plenty of disappointments this year and it's just the start :(

      Delete
  17. So sad! I was just looking to add this book to my TBR yesterday but the reviews were not stellar. And the leading lady is a 'puppet'! I would of been frustrated as well. I actually been obsessing with fairy tale retelling, reading a third one this week 'Cruel Beauty'. Hopefully your next read will be better! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aw, you might like it though, who know's? Cruel Beauty is such an amazing book ♥ Thank you for dropping by :)

      Delete
  18. I liked this one a little bit more than you did, but, yeah, it was disappointing. I might read the next books in the series. I hope you read something awesome soon!

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Let's see if the next books are better, unfortunately this one didn't work out for me :/

      Delete
  19. I'm sorry this book was such a let-down! It's been on my radar for awhile because of the cover! But I think it just moved down a few notches on my reading priority list. Slow plots and lacking character development are two of my pet peeves.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, it's probably my biggest let down this year so far :/ I wanted to give this five stars when I first heard about it, but it didn't work out.

      Delete
  20. The cover is BEAUTIFUL, it's a damn shame the book actually sucked for you :( great honest review xxx

    ReplyDelete

Powered by Blogger.